The Workhouse Blog is proud to announce over 33% off the Ribchester Calendar Girls 2010 calendar!

27 04 2010

Today is my half ‘blogday’ which means I have been doing the Workhouse blog now for 6 months. During that time I have written 85 blogs, this being my 86th. As a self confessed expert  I wondered why my wife handed me the latest copy of Nat West Business Sense pointing at an article entitled ‘How to Blog’ encouraging me to read it. I noticed she had circled a small paragraph which said ” ….don’t spout off any old spurious rubbish; think about what your readers want to hear….”  Hmmmm.

So I checked out  the most popular search on my blog to discover what my readers want to hear ( I’m getting up to 4 hits a day on my blog now….) and it’s…….Ribchester Calendar Girls! Which reminds me that on Friday we’re exactly a third of the way through the year, so in an attempt to sell the remaining 25 calendars in my possession I can legitimately offer ” Ribchester Calendar Girls 2010 Calendar, now ONE THIRD OFF!…..was £7.50 now only £5…..and when they’re gone, they’re gone…don’t miss out!…”. Just let me know if you want one. And if you’re interested, here’s the four brave ladies who have already had their month in the sun!!

The calendar was shot at Workhouse Studios in our photography studio, even though I say it myself, one of the best photographic studios in Lancashire, certainly the newest and most purpose built photography studio. Andrew Woodhouse our in-house photographer who shot the semi naked women (and never been the same since), has been doing some really nice portraits recently which you can see on our other website http://www.workhousestudios.co.uk/Staff-Portraits/menu-id-96.html

The 6m high corner infinity cove at Workhouse Studios

Another anniversary occurs later this year, it being the 25th anniversary of Live Aid 1985. It seems only minutes ago that they brought out the DVD to celebrate 20 years of Live Aid. July 13th 1985 was Live Aid day and I remember it well. As much as I’d have loved to have been there I was working as a Product Manager for Visionhire Ltd, the TV and video rental company, and we had a store opening in the middle of Sheffield. We had a giant balloon race, I dressed as Father Christmas (in July?!), the Mayor showed up and it was a boiling hot day. We had all the TV’s tuned in to Live Aid and the music full on, it was a good opening. A heavily pregnant Nita and I were living in the South and I dashed back from Sheffield in time for us to attend a dinner party at friends of ours in North London, and stayed up to watch the Philadelphia leg after Wembley had finished. I’ve always been fascinated by the event, and via eBay I have the souvenir programme of the day. I am still gobsmacked how Bob Geldof managed to organise such a big event in such a small time, without a mobile or a laptop!

Back to the present day, and my son Tom (who was in the heavily pregnant Nita and was born 12 days after Live Aid) has just completed the first full week of trading for The Whalley Wine Shop. He has a final bit of training on his new EPOS today and hopefully we will have good and accurate stats showing his sales performance every which way. I know he’s happy with the way the week has been but it will be nice to see that reflected in the figures. He has a double page spread in the next issue of LIVE RIBBLE VALLEY magazine, and that will have a positive effect on sales.

And what a joy it is to see the sun shining and the blossom on the trees….and if you’ve got this far, you may as well listen to Status Quo opening Live Aid in 1985!

Mark.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment