A new MacBook, a toothless United, a new wine shop, a charity marathon run, a new cricket ground, a busy agency, an election, more men in China and hows your offline spend!

14 04 2010

It’s Wednesday, and a few days since I last blogged. Since then my old laptop, after trusty service has finally bitten the dust. I was really happy with the last one and although there are alternatives, all costing more, I’ve gone with a straight replacement so a simple, small Macbook it is. Nice one. Not so simple and small a job to transfer all my information, settings, addresses, programmes etc from one machine to the other, but Steven and Martin are on the case, and hopefully all my routines will be back to normal soon. It really seems like everything comes to a standstill without your computer.

Berbatov, not a patch on Rooney

And meanwhile there’s so much stuff going on to blog about I don’t know where to start! Since Friday the sun has come out and so too have all the shorts and skimpy tops, to be followed no doubt by all the cold remedies as our bodies remind us it’s only mid April and not mid July. I was kindly invited to Crown Paints hospitality at the Rovers United game on Sunday by David at Stax. Really enjoyable I think Rovers are actually progressing well under Allardyce and are playing some decent football in between all the set pieces. as for United without Rooney, a bit toothless for me.

My son Tom opens The Whalley Wine Shop this coming Monday and it’s incredibly hectic, will the builders finish in time, will the shelves be installed in time, will all the stock turn up, will be get the signage and the ticketing done…etc etc. My son Ben runs in the London Marathon a week on Sunday…will he get round…will we raise enough in sponsorship for Cystic Fibrosis. The Cricket season starts on saturday with my club Ribchester CC benefitting from a late opportunity to play this season’s matches at Blackburn Northern due to their demise. Off up there  tonight for a bit of a practice and to see what ground preparation is required by us.

Meanwhile at work, we’ve won another big contract for an existing client. It’s fantastic news. Well done to Jen and Ian who put the pitch together. We’re very busy and we need another Account Manager pronto and whilst there have been a lot of applicants, Mr or Ms Right hasn’t turned up yet. The holiday season is also having an effect with Mark and Heidi off this week, we need to schedule our holidays carefully so we’re not understaffed.

Out in the big wide world, the election is upon us, and whilst I will try and make this blog an election free zone, I find it quite amusing how the parties are frantically throwing wild promises at the electorate which we all know will not come to fruition! I think there may be a big vote against Lab/Con this year and the smaller parties will do surprisingly well. There are two good articles i’ve read recently which I’d like to comment on and will form the basis of future blogs…an article in the Sunday Times highlighting the fact that soon there will be 30 million more men than women in China and the social consequences. Also a piece in The Marketer speculating that soon online marketing spend will outweigh offline marketing spend.

Lots going on, and with a brand spanking new laptop, lots to blog about.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment